Labour announce Opposition Spokespersons

Barnet’s Labour Group unveiled their Opposition Spokespersons on the 8 decision-making Commissioning Committees and other major committees at last night’s Annual Council Meeting. They also announced their nominations to committee places.

Leader of the Barnet Labour Group, Cllr Alison Moore said: “Labour councillors come from all walks of life and backgrounds and reflect Barnet’s diverse communities. We’ve appointed a lead spokesperson on all committees to make use of the breadth of talent within the largest ever Labour group in Barnet – both experienced and new councillors. I’m particularly pleased that we have a mix of men and women spokespersons – including on the main commissioning committees - in stark contrast to the Tories who have appointed only men as Chairs of the main commissioning committees.”


“The Tories are in for a rough ride over the next year as they control many committees with only the casting vote of the Chair, and we are determined to stand-up for local people and fight for fairness and for a better Barnet.”


Labour’s spokespersons are:


Commissioning Committees:

Policy & Resources Committee: Cllr Alison Moore

Performance & Contract Management Committee: Cllr Geof Cooke

Children, Education, Libraries & Safeguarding Committee: Cllr Anne Hutton

Adults & Safeguarding Committee: Cllr Barry Rawlings

Housing Committee: Cllr Ross Houston

Assets, Growth & Regeneration Committee: Cllr Pauline Coakley Webb

Environment Committee: Cllr Alan Schneiderman

Community Leadership Committee: Cllr Arjun Mittra


Spokespersons for other committees, sub-committees, forums, panels and boards:

Planning Committee: Cllr Jim Tierney

Licensing Committee: Cllr Claire Farrier

Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee: Cllr Barry Rawlings

Constitution, Ethics & Probity Committee: Cllr Alison Moore

Audit Committee: Cllr Kathy Levine

General Functions Committee: Cllr Kitty Lyons

Pension Committee: Cllr Andreas Ioannidis

Remuneration Committee: Cllr Alison Moore

Urgency Committee: Cllr Alison Moore

Chipping Barnet Residents’ Forum: Cllr Amy Trevethan

Finchley & Golders Green Residents’ Forum: Cllr Alon Or-bach

Hendon Residents’ Forum: Cllr Ammar Naqvi

Chipping Barnet Area Sub-Committee: Cllr Pauline Coakley Webb

Finchley & Golders Green Area Sub-Committee: Cllr Kath McGuirk

Hendon Area Sub-Committee: Cllr Adam Langleben

Group Leader’s Panel: Cllr Alison Moore

Corporate Parenting Advisory Panel: Cllr Anne Hutton

Health & Wellbeing Board: Cllr Barry Rawlings

Children’s Trust Partnership Board: Cllr Anne Hutton

Safer Communities Partnership Board: Cllr Arjun Mittra

Local Strategic Partnership: Cllr Alison Moore

Donate Volunteer Campaigns


get updates